Book Review| I’ll Give You The Sun

Hey everyone! It’s Monday and that means the first day of my summer vacation. If you’re on vacation, welcome to paradise! If you’re not, hang in there! Today I am going to be doing another book review. As you can guess by the title, I am going to be reviewing I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson. I finished this a while ago but was too busy to do a review. At least I’m doing it now!  Without further a do, let’s get going!


Title: I’ll Give You The Sun

Author: Jandy Nelson

# of pages: 371

Genre: Contemporary, LGBTQ

My Rating: 4.3/5 stars

Goodreads Rating: 4.16/5 stars

Amazon Rating: 4.7/5 stars


Summary From Amazon:

 

“A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her brother, Noah, are incredibly close twins. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude surfs and cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and divisive ways…until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as an unpredictable new mentor. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant, fully alive novel from the critically acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing―often all at once.”


Critic Reviews (Credit is Given):

“Dazzling.” “The New York Times Book Review” 


“Have you ever wanted to put a book in all of your friends’ hands? This is that kind of book . . . Heartbreakingly honest.” “San Francisco Chronicle”


“This book is about many things: grief, sexuality, creativity, bravery, identity, guilt. But mostly it’s about love. Be prepared with more tissues than you needed for “The Fault in Our Stars,” a chunky notebook to scribble down all the quotes and a handful of witty responses when people ask why you’re chuckling to yourself in the corner. Because this book will make you realise how beautiful words can be.” “The Guardian” 


“This book is many things at once, all of them engrossing. It’s a book where teenagers think in almost indulgently poetic language while still sounding genuinely adolescent. It’s two separate but equally intoxicating love stories. . . . Most of all, it’s the mystery of what happened to tear Noah and Jude apart, and what if anything can bring them back together again.” NPR’s Guide to 2014’s Great Reads.



My Thoughts:

This book was amazing!! It kept me turning the pages once I got into it. There were parts of the book that were confusing or not very exciting. As the book progressed though, it really sucked me in. Noah is so amazing. He’s so creative and artistic. Noah is gay and follows in love with the boy next door. Jude is amazing as well. She’s not as artistic as Noah and doesn’t feel as loved by their mom. Jude falls in love as well.  When something major happens, Noah and Jude are torn apart. They go their separate ways and don’t talk anymore. You have to read the book to find out if they become close again. Overall, I loved this book. The writing just flowed and the characters were so well described, it felt like I knew them. I felt what they felt. Saw what they saw. It may not be for everyone but I enjoyed it for the most part.

Credit to the creator on the fan art/Pinterest


That’s a wrap! Have you read this book? If you have, what did you think about it? No spoilers of course 🙂 If you haven’t read it, do you want to now? Let me know!

Thanks for reading and stay tuned for more book reviews 🙂

~Makayla the Bookworm 😀