Book Review: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Hi everyone! Today I am doing a book review of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling. I finished this book a few days ago but haven’t been too motivated to blog lately. I’m feeling more motivated and plan to be more active again 😀

Title: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter Series #6)

Author: J.K. Rowling

# of pages: 652

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Amazon Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Barnes and Noble Summary:

Amazon and Goodreads Summaries were uncompleted or not the same as the book

The war against Voldemort is not going well; even Muggle governments are noticing. Ron scans the obituary pages of the Daily Prophet, looking for familiar names. Dumbledore is absent from Hogwarts for long stretches of time, and the Order of the Phoenix has already suffered losses.
And yet…

As in all wars, life goes on. Sixth-year students learn to Apparate — and lose a few eyebrows in the process. The Weasley twins expand their business. Teenagers flirt and fight and fall in love. Classes are never straightforward, though Harry receives some extraordinary help from the mysterious Half-Blood Prince.

So it’s the home front that takes center stage in the multilayered sixth installment of the story of Harry Potter. Here at Hogwarts, Harry will search for the full and complex story of the boy who became Lord Voldemort — and thereby find what may be his only vulnerability.


 

My Thoughts:

Dang! A lot happened in the 6th book of the 7 book series! I can’t say much but some flirting arises and relationships begin. Dumbledore and Harry continue their battle. I wish I could say more but I know some fellow bloggers haven’t read this book yet so no spoilers 😀

Here are some memes and gifs of Harry Potter for you to enjoy XD


That’s my review of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.

What are your thoughts? Let me know! *NO SPOILERS!*

Thanks for reading and stay tuned for the 7th Harry Potter book review!

~Makayla the Bookworm 😀

 

 

 

 

 

Movie Review: Daddy’s Home

Hey everyone! Sorry I’ve been a little bit MIA the last few days. I’m not going to use any excuses for filler posts. Today I went and saw Daddy’s Home.

Movie Title: Daddy’s Home

Release Date: December 25th, 2015 (USA)

Movie Rating: PG 13 (Originally PG)

My Rating: 8.5/10 stars

IMDb Rating: 6.6/10

Movie Trailer:


My Thoughts and Others:

I thought it was a great movie. Some parts made me think it was closely rated to R not PG 13. Many rated it very low. I’m not a film critic but I think people were being too picky. There were some very mature sequences and lots and lots of language. I recommend seeing this only if you can handle the language and amounts of suggestive behavior. Definitely not for young children but there were at least a couple of kids in the movie. These links below may not influence your decision but it’ll give you professional opinions. Most I don’t agree with. Will Ferrell was of course funny and Mark Walberg seemed to be more of the serious guy this time.

IMDb

Rotten Tomatoes


I don’t want to spoil too much so this is my review. Daddy’s Home was a great movie but had quite a few questionable parts.

What are your thoughts on Daddy’s Home? Let Me Know!

Thanks for reading and stay tuned for more movie reviews!

This will be the last one till 2016.

~Makayla the Bookworm 😀